Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Vcred
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2023 2:57 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Post by Vcred »

Hi Jekyll, would like to suggest a toggle for weapons casing, sometimes I just want to go "more vanilla".

Right now I just changed something myself, but I'm sure you can make it an option.

Code: Select all

action actor A_Eject(class<Actor> itemtype, double xofs = 0, double yofs = 0, double zofs = 0, double xvel = 0, double yvel = 0, double zvel = 0) {
		if (!player || !player.mo || bdoom_weapons != 2)
			return null;
		PlayerInfo plr = player;
		PlayerPawn pmo = player.mo;
		Vector3 ofs = pmo.pos+(0,0,plr.viewheight-GetFloorTerrain().footclip);
		Vector3 x, y, z;
		[x, y, z] = Matrix4.getaxes(pmo.pitch,pmo.angle,pmo.roll);
		let targofs = ofs+x*xofs+y*yofs-z*zofs;
		if (!Level.IsPointInLevel(targofs))
			return null;
		let c = Spawn(itemtype,targofs);
		if (c) {
			c.vel = x*xvel+y*yvel+z*zvel;
			c.target = self;
			c.angle = angle;
			return c;
		}
		return null;
	}
Thx and congratulations on your great mod, I'm using it for years.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Contact:

Re: Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

Vcred wrote: Tue Jan 10, 2023 3:17 pm Hi Jekyll, would like to suggest a toggle for weapons casing, sometimes I just want to go "more vanilla".

Right now I just changed something myself, but I'm sure you can make it an option.
The casings are currently a part of the "smoke, trails, casings, debris" package. I don't think I'm going to introduce a separate option just for the casings, because I'm wary of option bloat (there's a bit too many as it is, IMO). I may separate FX spawned by the monsters and by the player into separate options, though.
User avatar
Vcred
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2023 2:57 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Post by Vcred »

Fair enough, thanks anyways, keep up the good work!
User avatar
Nimlouth
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 8:34 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Argentina

Re: Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Post by Nimlouth »

This has become an "always in loadoarder" for me these days! tysm for the hard work put into this! <3

Btw, is there any way to manually restore the sink-into-liquids effect back? I know it caused issues, but I'm very jealous of the doom retro sourceport liquid effects and I really miss that tiny detail in gzdoom. I could live with a case-by-case toggle :p

tysm again for the amazing mod! keep it up!
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Contact:

Re: Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

Nimlouth wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 3:37 am This has become an "always in loadoarder" for me these days! tysm for the hard work put into this! <3
Thank you!
Nimlouth wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 3:37 amBtw, is there any way to manually restore the sink-into-liquids effect back? I know it caused issues, but I'm very jealous of the doom retro sourceport liquid effects and I really miss that tiny detail in gzdoom. I could live with a case-by-case toggle :p
In the TERRAIN lump at the root of the archive look for lines that contain footclip 0 and change 0 to a greater value, such as 8.
User avatar
Nimlouth
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 8:34 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Argentina

Re: Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Post by Nimlouth »

Jekyll Grim Payne wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 11:53 am
Nimlouth wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 3:37 am This has become an "always in loadoarder" for me these days! tysm for the hard work put into this! <3
Thank you!
Nimlouth wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 3:37 amBtw, is there any way to manually restore the sink-into-liquids effect back? I know it caused issues, but I'm very jealous of the doom retro sourceport liquid effects and I really miss that tiny detail in gzdoom. I could live with a case-by-case toggle :p
In the TERRAIN lump at the root of the archive look for lines that contain footclip 0 and change 0 to a greater value, such as 8.
It worked like a charm!!! tysm! <3 it was actually really easy to make a "patch" in slade just replacing the terrain lump with a "footclip 8" version and then just use a launcher (I use doom runner) to toggle it on or off in the loadorder
User avatar
Fireseth
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 5:46 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Post by Fireseth »

Does anyone know how to revert the Beautiful Doom split HUD back to the original DOOM status bar? I've been trying to search for methods to do so but I haven't found any helpful results. I'm not too tech-savvy so I don't know what to change in the .pk3 file with Slade or anything of that sort.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Contact:

Re: Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

Fireseth wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 5:51 pm Does anyone know how to revert the Beautiful Doom split HUD back to the original DOOM status bar? I've been trying to search for methods to do so but I haven't found any helpful results. I'm not too tech-savvy so I don't know what to change in the .pk3 file with Slade or anything of that sort.
Delete the SBARINFO file from the PK3 to remove Beautiful Doom's HUD. If I ever get around making a new version, it likely won't include a HUD at all for compatibility reasons.
rhyrhygogo
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:09 am

Re: Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Post by rhyrhygogo »

Jekyll Grim Payne wrote: Fri Apr 19, 2024 2:46 pm
Fireseth wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 5:51 pm Does anyone know how to revert the Beautiful Doom split HUD back to the original DOOM status bar? I've been trying to search for methods to do so but I haven't found any helpful results. I'm not too tech-savvy so I don't know what to change in the .pk3 file with Slade or anything of that sort.
Delete the SBARINFO file from the PK3 to remove Beautiful Doom's HUD. If I ever get around making a new version, it likely won't include a HUD at all for compatibility reasons.
Would it be possible to be toggleable instead? The HUD for Beautiful Doom does fit it and I love playing beautiful Doom with it since it adds to the overall theme of Polishness and cleanliness.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Contact:

Re: Beautiful Doom 7.1.6 (June 2nd, 2021)

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

rhyrhygogo wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 8:51 am Would it be possible to be toggleable instead? The HUD for Beautiful Doom does fit it and I love playing beautiful Doom with it since it adds to the overall theme of Polishness and cleanliness.
Unfortunately, no. GZDoom can only load one HUD at a time, so the only way to toggle between multiple HUDs is to include all of them into the main HUD—which wouldn't be great for compatibility. Personally, I recommend just finding a dedicated HUD mod that you like and adding it to your load order after Beautiful Doom, so it overrides it.

Incidentally, I have my own HUD mod called FlexiHUD which non-intrusively draws on top of any existing HUD can be used as a full or partial replacement. Of course, it also doesn't feature a classic statusbar.

For a more classic look, you may want to check out the Fullscreen Statusbar Mod which looks more like classic statusbar and offers several options, including split, non-split, and others.
Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Mods”